Join NCPEDS | Join AAP | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
News & Press: NCPeds News

NCPeds Announces Awards for Child Health

Tuesday, August 8, 2017  
Share |


        For Immediate Release                     CONTACT:     Colleen M. Huseboe

           August 8, 2017                                                                919-839-1156 x201




NC Pediatric Society Announces Awards for Child Health

NCPeds presents awards at 2017 Annual Meeting


Raleigh, N.C. -- The North Carolina Pediatric Society (NCPeds) is pleased to announce the 2017 awards for pediatric excellence which will be presented during NCPeds’ Annual Meeting in Asheville on August 18-20, 2017.


“Each of these recipients has worked in a significant way to make North Carolina a healthier, better place for children.  NCPeds is proud to recognize their efforts and accomplishments with these distinguished awards,” said W. Scott St. Clair, MD, FAAP, President of NCPeds.


The following awards will be presented:


Julie Linton, MD, FAAP, will receive The David T. Tayloe, Sr. Award for Outstanding Community Service.  Dr. Linton is an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the Wake Forest School of Medicine where she serves as the Advocacy Director for the Wake Forest Pediatric Residency Program.  Dr. Linton co-chairs the AAP Immigrant Health Special Interest Group, is a member of the AAP Executive Committee for the Council on Community Pediatrics and active with NCPeds.  She is also co-founder and co-chair of the Forsyth County Refugee Health Collaborative and an engaged member of the Forsyth Adolescent Health Coalition.


Amina Ahmed, MD, FAAP, will receive The Denny, Katz, Simon, Tingelstad Academic Service Award.  Dr. Ahmed practices in the area of pediatric infectious diseases, has served as Director and Vice Chair of pediatric research at Carolinas Medical Center and holds clinical adjunct positions at the University of UNC-Chapel Hill and at Duke University.  Dr Ahmed was mentored by Dr. Floyd Denny, one of the physicians for whom the award is named.  Dr. Denny was pivotal in her decision to pursue a career in infectious diseases.


Megan Davies, MD, will receive The James D. Bernstein Excellence in Public Service Award.  Dr. Davies is a public health consultant with a focus in public health decision making, public health surveillance and outbreak response.  Dr. Davies served as the State Epidemiologist and Chief of the Epidemiology Section for the North Carolina Division of Public Health from 2009-2016.


John Rusher, MD, JD, FAAP, will be recognized with The Steve Shore Service Award.  Dr. Rusher is a pediatrician and partner at Raleigh Pediatric Associates, and an Associate Clinical Professor at UNC-Chapel Hill and NC Children’s Hospital.  A past president of NCPeds, Dr. Rusher remains a very active member: co-chairing NCPeds Pediatric Council and serving on the Finance and Development Committee.


Beth Messersmith, MPA, will receive The Tom Vitaglione Child Health Advocacy Award.  As NC Senior Campaign Director for, Ms. Messersmith leads more than 42,000 North Carolina members in an effort to increase family economic security, to end discrimination against women and mothers, and to build a nation where both businesses and families can thrive.


Brandy Bynum Dawson, MPA, will receive The Outstanding Achievement Award. Ms. Dawson is the Associate Director for Rural Forward, NC at the Foundation for Health Leadership and Innovation.  Additionally, she serves on the NC Institute of Medicine Membership Committee, Youth Justice Project, NC Child and NC Bar Association Juvenile Justice and Children’s Rights Section.  Ms. Dawson is being recognized for her decade plus of work to “raise the age” of juvenile jurisdiction.


Yun Boylston, MD, FAAP, will receive the inaugural Rising Star Early Career Physician Award.  Dr. Boylston is a pediatrician and managing partner at Burlington Pediatrics/Mebane Pediatrics who also serves as an adjunct professor at UNC-Chapel Hill and a lecturer at Elon University’s Physician Assistant Program.  Additionally, Dr. Boylston serves on the board of directors for Hospice of Alamance-Caswell, Impact Alamance and Alamance Chamber. 



Founded in 1921, the North Carolina Pediatric Society (NCPeds) is the state affiliate Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics with nearly 2,000 pediatrician and pediatric health professional members.  NCPeds’ mission is to empower pediatricians and its partners to foster the physical, social and emotional well-being of infants, children, adolescents and young adults.